Randi vs Blind Faith

I can heal you my child, I can cure all of your ills when doctors have said there is no hope. I can relieve you of all debt, when credit companies have black listed you. I’ll let you talk to your diseased loved ones . Let you make your peace when you thought that opportunity had passed you by. Anything that is worrying you I will take it away and you will be eternally happy. I ask for relatively little in return, merely a sweetener for your  saviour. Yes by sending me $200 today you will be instantly happier tomorrow.

Of course I cannot do any of these things. $200 would be nice mind! However there are people alive and working today in every country of the world who say they can, and take more than the $200. Mediums, Faith healers, Psychics, clairvoyants, non-ordained prophets, tarot readers and  astrologers. All willing to take the money of those emotionally vulnerable. TV Medium John Edward  for example thought that 9/11 would be a good way to earn a few bucks. He filmed a show with 9/11’s victims relatives in October 2001 that never aired.

So with all the vulnerable people in the world, and all this money to be earned who do we have to protect us to expose these charlatans for what they are. Well three people spring to mind Derren Brown, Ian Rowland and James “The Amazing” Randi. I have a feeling I will write about then all but for now I’ll focus on James Randi.

The James Randi Educational Foundation was founded in 1996 to expose some of those individuals who make outlandish claims regarding their psychic abilities or gifts. Mr Randi himself has been doing this work long before the foundation formed offering a cash prize that currently stands at one million dollars for anyone who can demonstrate under test conditions clear psychic or paranormal ability. The prize is currently unclaimed.

The foundation periodically awards “Pigasus” awards to individuals or companies who contribute to the flim flam trade. One of the 2011 recipeints of this award is Peter Popoff. In the late 80’s James Randi exposed this waste of carbon. But now he’s back, Miracle Spring Water anyone?

Ok so the woman who sent all her money to Popoff is clearly two sandwiches short of a picnic but she is one of those who needs protecting against people like him.  I have issues with all forms of religion,(it is a topic I will return to) however if believing in something helps you get through your day who am I to tell you what to think. In fact if you wanna believe the sky is green and the grass is blue I’ll support you to the ends of the earth, as long as you don’t try and convince me.

However when false hopes are offered in return for sending your lifes savings I am pleased to think there are guys out there fighting the fight. Come payday I may even donate to the foundation, sure as hell beats Miracle Spring Water.

Leave a Reply

