Good for her.

When speaking recently to teacher friend of mine I was surprised to find out that she set homework of “Writing an Autobiography” to her class of 10-11 year olds. “What,” I enquired, “could they possibly have to write about.” Less than me and I’m not exactly prolific. However she told me that some of the finished products had been excellent and it encouraged the kids to think about their self image and their life experience thus far.

Good for them.

To date I don’t think my teacher friend has pitched this idea to any publishers, and the work produced was all written by the children who’s name appeared on their artistic front covers. No ghost writers here. So spin forward to 2024 (yes the time machine again, bare with me) one of the kids in the class has gone on to achieve fame and fortune as a TV star and recording artist. At the age of 23.

Good for her.

She had a hard upbringing, living in the poorer areas of a great metropolis. She didn’t sit any exams at school. Her mother suffered from multiple mental illnesses and at 13 she herself tried to commit suicide. She recovered from this and went on to form a group, speaking as a voice for those in her community gaining a record deal with Polydor.

Good for her.

She presented radio shows on a famous national urban station, talking to listeners in words they could understand. She presented a documentary all about her mothers illness, featuring lots about her formative years. Then a media mogul, stepped forward and approached her to utilise her experience in the music industry by becoming a judge on a never ending talent show, that exposed her to millions of viewers every week.

Good for her.

Next she split from her group. Announcing a solo project. And at the age of 23 she announced an autobiography.

Good for her.

Now. You may have guessed this is not a fictitious person from the future. This 23 year old who raised from the slums is X-Factors very own Tulisa. Now I have no problem with autobiographies, I have read a fair few, even ones that were dictated to journos and not written by the subject. If you are a footballer or a musician you are not a writer by trade so why should you be able to write about your life. But all of the books I have read, had a story, substance, taught me something new.

Tulisa’s life, has been documented by the media. Some of it by her in her BBC Three Documentary Tulisa: My Mum And Me. So what can this autobiography tell fans that they don’t already know. There won’t be any dirt on anyone because it is foolhardy to burn bridges at 23. If she says “Simon Cowell is an arseclown” I’ll eat all the copies of the book in my local Waterstones.

In addition to the autobiography she has been signed up to write two novels. Yes this is where jealousy comes in. I’d love to be signed up on a two book deal. That said I would want to write the books myself, dictating a autobiography thats one thing, but doing the same to a work of fiction (if that) is just not on, I’m looking at you Katie Price.

By Hasitha Tudugalle [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (www.creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

I have no problem with Tulisa writing a book. But she isn’t going to, I hope her ghost writers are being paid well. Because who is going to buy it? All of her fans will have seen all about her on TV. It’s a fair bet that most of them don’t even know what a book is. (I said most.. Sophie)

Props to them.

Good for her.

3 thoughts on “Good for her.

    1. One Button Mouse says:

      You’re not gonna be in the queue at the signing then? šŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment

  1. A two book deal, eh? I know something about the life she’s had and her fame is very well deserved, so I certainly don’t have anything against her personally, but this proves absolutely that once you become a ‘name’, you can do anything. Or at least you’re given the opportunity to do ‘anything’. You may be awful, but your name will still be able to sell it, if your fan base is big enough and forgiving of anything you do.

    “When, will I, will I be famous? I can’t answer, I can’t answer that…”

Leave a Reply

