(BDYBIS) Leaks

The following was inspired by a conversation I had with a friend over the recent iPhone 5 launch.

*  *

Picture the scene. You are 8 years old, it’s Christmas. You are sure the fat man has fallen down the chimney with a sack bursting to the brim with toys. You wrote stuff on your list but you are not sure what you are going to unwrap.

Your Mickey Mouse clock next to your bed reads 4:55am, you have been up since 4 but now you sneek into your parents room (hoping Dad has put on PJ’s) to wake them from their slumber so you can get into those parcels and know. Know once and for all what has been bestowed by the powers that be. Were you naughty or nice? Who knows. Your parents roll over in a half asleep flatulant state. Too excited you tip-toe down the stairs for a sneak peek, at least you will be able to see how many gifts you got compared to your sister.

There sat under the illuminated Christmas tree is your 6 year old sister, cradling a Nintendo Entertainment System in her hands. Your Nintendo Entertainment System. Thats it. The excitement of the main present is gone, sure you can open the Chocolate Orange and the pencil sharpener but the pleasure of seeing that black box with Mario on the side being revealed slowly as you can bare from under the silver paper has been robbed from you.

By Matthew Paul Argall (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

I don’t like surprises, now as an adult. Not that I did when I was younger, I always hid when Noels House Party did “NTV” just in case the cameras were in my house. I do like anticipation. I like to know that something is happening, possibly when and where, but I don’t want to know everything straight out. It’s like getting that girl you have been lusting after for years back to your place, only for her to get naked whilst you were cleaning your teeth. You can see her in all her glory but the thrill of not knowing is gone, enjoying the moment of gradually exploring….. Urhm sorry where was I.

I wrote yesterday about the iPhone 5 launch. I said that everything I’ve read about the iPhone 5 was pretty much true, even down to the form factor and the EarPods. I’m pretty sure Apple “leak” information about upcoming products as does every tech firm. But now it’s getting ridiculous. The reveal has gone. OK sure I could avoid the news, like a football fan who has recorded highlights, but I have a Mac to maintain and update. Besides I like Ken Ray (Ba De Yah) and when do I start avoiding. The iPhone 5 started a day after the iPhone 4s had been released.

Years past. No-one knew. There were rumours but no-one really knew. It was a simpler time, it was a better time…

(BDYBIS) Leaks

Leave a Reply

