(BDYBIS) Happy Birthday Dad

This one will be rather self indulgent. More so than usual, why not it’s my blog and I can do what I want so na na na nah na.. no wait come back. Today is my Dad’s birthday, so as I’ve done a piece on Jimi Hendrix and Bill Hicks on their respective birthdays it would be rude not to feature the guy who played a major part in bringing me into the world, and making sure that I’m not a complete arsehole.

Yes for sure we have not always seen eye to eye, too similar for comfort sometimes, we both have few people in our lives who really matter. Those outside that privileged circle can pretty much fuck off and die. It’s a good way to be. That way you don’t get shit from people you hardly know.

One of my Dad’s favourite sayings is “The next man is an idiot” working where I do that is 100% true. My Dad taught me the value of hard work for necessary causes and good skives for unnecessary ones. My Dad was in the Fire Brigade, although this was before I was born it’s something I have always been immensely proud of. Yes whilst I spend my working hours massaging figures so that some incompetent prick who earns six times more than me doesn’t look a twatmonkey, my Dad used to spend his time pulling folks out of burning buildings. So thats why I want to wear a “NONE OF THIS MATTERS” shirt to work.

I don’t think my Dad would ever claim to be book smart. However I really appreciated the effort he would go to to find something out if I asked him about it. This was in the days before Google, I feel quite lazy now checking every fact on my freshly restored (twice now thanks iOS 6) iPhone.

Having a disabled child must be difficult. I mean there is no manual for “normal” kids so when some git pops out with crutches, a lesser man would have shit a brick. My Dad played a major part in my “can do” attitude. Thats not “can do” as in your bollocks corporate CV stuff. It’s actually real. I wanted to play football, ski, ride horses and run races. I did all those things, my Dad never once said “You can’t do that Son.” He was always there telling me to stop being a lazy bastard!

If anyone has read my football pieces, my Dad is always the one who accompanies me on these trips. Thinking back to the very start I used to take the piss Royally (pun intended for those who get it) because my Dad didn’t know player names or positions. Truth was I only did because I played a hell of a lot of Championship Manager at the time. He has learnt now, and many debate can be had. However he is still banned from telling me any predictions, because he always jinxes it.

As I career toward middle age myself. I look back and realise what good advice my Dad has given me over the years. He once told me my life could change in an instant, shortly afterwards it did. I am lucky to have a Dad who always has my best interests at heart, even if sometimes things go a little shit shaped. Someone who cares enough to let me make my own mistakes.. someone who can fart and clear a room.

Thanks Dad. Happy Birthday.

(BDYBIS) Happy Birthday Dad

Leave a Reply

