Four Weddings

The following is a guest piece from: apieceofpandemonium:

I’ve been asked by SudoOne to write this post as it’s a special occasion as it’s the 100th post! What a honour I hold and I hope to do SudoOne justice.

So why Four Weddings?

Weddings are a joyous occasion however unfortunatley for me, (or rather my bank balance) I have reached an age where a fair few of my friends are getting enagged/ married.  Next year alone I have 4 to attend, so what does this mean for me?

  • Engagement Party
  • Hen Do
  • Wedding Outfit: dress/ shoes/ fascinator/ handbag/ seamless underwear (no I am not kidding)
  • Accomodation (plus flights if abroad)
  • Wedding Gift

Myself and SudoOne spoke at length around what it is weddings mean and have they in fact lost that meaning?

TV shows such as:

Don’t Tell The Bride:- said bride and groom are split for 3 weeks, no communication allowed. Groom is given £12k to organise the wedding with no input allowed by the bride.

Four Weddings- 4 different brides attend each others weddings and score them on venue, dress, food and overal experience. The British version is incredibly bitchy and seems to involve everyone getting smashed. The US version, the people on it seem to be loaded and polite -can’t quite work out why they need to win in order to get a honeymoon?

Brideziller- clue is in the title

In addition to the 3 shows above you also now have ‘Wedding TV’ if you were a bit short on wedding ideas before, you now won’t be! We have the tv shows but we can’t leave out the endless bridal magazines that you need to buy as a newly engaged person- £7 a go, add that into you Wedding Budget! Couple this with trips to Bridal fairs and exherbitions, it’s enough to make anyone bewildered and the pressure felt of not having the mythical dream wedding that is the best wedding ever as shown in all these media outlets.

In pursuit of the dream wedding that has me as a mere guest spending almosst 2k in the upcomming year, for which I don’t have the money because I don’t live the lifestyle depicted in the magazines and tv. I would love nothing more then to be able to attend all hen do’s, buy nice gifts, attend the weddings and drink everyone under the table (although I will be there first), but not at the expense of not being able to pay my mortgage.

As SudoOne said to me the competitive wedding element is gradually erroding the emotional meaning of the wedding ceremony, ultimatly it is the same piece of paper that everyone who gets married signs- whether its a Registry Office, Church, Temple, Gurdwara or Carribean Beach.

If your thinking of going abroad for your Hen Do/ Wedding or even having a weekend Hen Do within this country, please spare a thought that actually yours might not be the only wedding that is to be attended that year. Whats more important, having your nearest and dearest being able to celebrate with you on your special day(s) or living up to an idea that is being set by a journelist that you will never meet?

I, CoCodoko [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html), CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) or CC-BY-SA-2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5-2.0-1.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

If you have enjoyed this piece. I’m about to start my own blogging adventure at http://apieceofpandemonium.wordpress.com pay it a visit, or SudoOne might come to your house and lick your windows.

Four Weddings

One thought on “Four Weddings

Leave a Reply

