(WMB4X) E-Books

iBooks, Kindle, Nook, Hudl. All e-book readers (kind of) If you had asked me what a e-book was when I was 8 I would have assumed it was something from Yorkshire. Ee book.

I love my tech. As you know from reading these here pages. But e-readers and e-books are something I just cannot fully embrace. Don’t get me wrong I have a few books I have brought and tried out on the Kindle App for the iPhone, but mostly I got them because it was something to read ‘right now’ and the Kindle additions were very much cheaper than the much more pleasing and tactile paper versions.

I the e-books I paid money for are:

I am the Secret Footballer by The Secret Footballer
This is a now ex-premiership footballer who used to write a ‘Secret Footballer’ column in the guardian. Well worth a read even if you only have a passing interest in the beautiful game. Because of his anonymus status he is able to be very canid about life in the dressing room and life in the fast lane. There is a website dedicated to trying to find out who he is my money is on Dave Kitson (Reading Legend)

Flim-Flam! Psychics, ESP, Unicorns, and Other Delusions by James Randi
The legendary James “The Amazing” Randi lifts the lid on several charlatans and bounders. Explaining how they pull the wool over the eyes of the most learned scholars and minds in history. A skeptics bible.

An Encyclopedia of Claims, Frauds, and Hoaxes of the Occult and Supernatural by James Randi
Yep another one for my skeptical side. Not read much of this one yet. But still an eye opener

You know what though. I wish I had all three books in print. That means I could have leant them to my friends and family. I can read them in the bath with little fear of dropping them. Instead these things of beauty are trapped within my fondle slab.

And now kindles are to be sold in Independent Book stores in America. Is this a step closer to the end for the paperback? If you have been reading my bollocks (it’s in James Randi’s book) for long enough you will know I would like to write, professionally. When I think of this dream I don’t think “oh wow, e-ink.” I think big fuck off hard back books.

Long live the humble book.

Girl Reading, 1893 Edward Simmons


Please give the Resident Weeble a look.. print his blog out and read it old school

(WMB4X) E-Books

Leave a Reply

